Emir Sanusi Lamido Sanusi Joins MTN Group Board

Former  Nigerian Central Bank Governor and Emir of Kano, His Royal Highness Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, has been announced as one of the new Directors to join MTN Group Board. Kenyan national, Vincent Rague who worked International Finance Corporation for 24 years in a number of senior positions has also joined the Board of Directors.

The Continent’s leading telecommunications company released a statement sharing recent changes in its Group Board and the establishment of an International Advisory Board (IAB). The company believes it has entered a more stable and settled period which enables it to now effect an evolution of the Board following recent challenging regulatory environments and competitive trading conditions.

Over a period of 12 months other changes will also be effected, such as the step down of Chairman of MTN Group, Phuthuma Nhleko, from the Board on 15th December 2019, after overseeing an orderly transition of the Board including the establishment of the International Advisory Board. On the same day, the newly appointed Chairman-designate, Mcebisi Jonas, will assume the position of the Chairman of MTN Group. At different dates between 2019 and 2020, Alan Harper, Jeff Van Rooyen, Koosum Kaylan, Peter Mageza and Dawn Marole, will step down from the Board.

The newly established International Advisory Board (IAB) will have prominent persons of considerable and wide-ranging experience. The primary purpose of the IAB will be to counsel, guide and support the MTN Group from time to time in fulfilling its vision and objective of being one of the premier African corporations with a global footprint in telecommunications, contributing to increased digital inclusion in Africa and the Middle East, a pivotal aspect of the fourth industrial revolution. This Advisory Board will be chaired by His Excellency former President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr. Thabo Mbeki and includes the notable Africans such as His Excellency President John Kufuor, former President of Ghana; Dr. Aisha Abdullahi, former African Union Commissioner for Political Affairs; Dr. Mohammed el Baradei, former Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency; Phuthuma Nhleko, Chairman of MTN Group, etc.

The current Chairman who is set to step down in December expressed the group’s appreciation to the outgoing Directors and the confidence in the skills and insights to be expected from the incoming Directors, “MTN Group highly appreciates and thanks the MTN Group directors who will be stepping down after many years of valued service to the Group. We are confident that the incoming directors of the Board will bring a depth of skills and regional insights that will continue to enrich the experience of the board. We are most privileged and honoured to have His Excellency former President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr. Thabo Mbeki, agree to Chair the IAB and are grateful to all the distinguished persons of the IAB who have agreed to give of their valuable time to contribute to the development of telecommunications and connectivity in Africa and the Middle East.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.