The governorship election results in North-Central region

In the end, the All Progressive Congress won all of the four states that the results have been declared in the region so far.

The North-Central governorship election was full of intrigues as the polls in two states in the region were declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC. Pending the rerun in the affected states, here’s a breakdown of the results so far


The people of Kwara state were out to make a political statement in the concluded governorship election with the ‘O to ge’ movement which helped dislodge the ruling party in the state, including Bukola Sakari. The campaign gave wings to Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of APC who emerged winner in the highly contested polls by scoring 331,546 votes against PDP’s Abdulrazaq Atunwa who took home 114,754 votes.


Plateau state governorship election is among the list of states that INEC declared inconclusive. Prior to the cancellation of the votes, the incumbent governor and the candidate of the APC was leading the poll after garnering 583,255 votes in his re-election bid, while Jeremiah Useni of PDP was following behind with 538,326 votes.


The election cycle of Kogi state didn’t align with the general election cycle in Nigeria as the state conducted its governorship election in December of 2015. The winner of the poll, Yahaya Bello of APC was sworn into office in January 2016. The state will be conducting a fresh election later in the year.


Niger state chose to continue with its incumbent governor, Abubakar Bello of APC who was declared the winner of the governorship election after polling a total of 526,412 votes against Umar Nasko of PDP who scored 298,065 votes.


Benue state governorship election is still undecided as the INEC declared the election inconclusive. Before cancelling the votes, the Returning Officer, Sebastian Maimako announced that the incumbent governor, Samuel Ortom of PDP polled the highest number of 410,576 votes against his closest rival, Emmanuel Jime of APC scored a total number of 329,022 votes.


The governorship election in Nasarawa state was upheld despite some incidents of disruptions in some polling units in the state. Engr. Abdullahi Sule of the APC was elected as the governor after scoring 327,229 votes against PDP’s David Ombugadu who polled 184,281 votes.

In the end, the All Progressive Congress won all of the four states that the results have been declared in the region so far, while the People’s Democratic Party, PDP hasn’t won any state yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.